Here’s to New Things

img_7020-2So I’ve been trying to do something new.

I am a very private person, especially when it comes to my writing. My writing is my escape. It is where I can be open and honest. But it is my space…which is where the problem comes in.

Being honest in my writing means I’m being honest with you.

You who randomly stumbled upon my blog. You who I’ve known since we were kids. You reading this right now. There is no mask. Everything you read is a one way ticket to seeing me in a whole new way. There’s no turning back. There is some good, and some bad. But mostly things you probably didn’t know.

I was kinda stuck in an in-between: I really wanted to share and I really didn’t want to share. I don’t like to share my writing because of how “vulnerable” it makes you (aka “these words are my diary screaming out loud”). But I decided to just go for it. Here’s to being open and writing from the heart. To kick-off my decision to be more open, I shared some of my poems (Fears and hiraeth) which was a lot harder than I thought.

But that is the point of writing. To share experiences with people. To connect and inspire. To feel a little less alone.

So here’s to new things. Bring on the honesty, bring on the vulnerability.

 

8 thoughts on “Here’s to New Things

  1. That is so awesome that you decided to share some of your writing on here, Samantha! It takes a lot of strength and courage to take a big step like that 🙂 I’ll go check out those posts next. x

    Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re very welcome! I’m glad that it was worth it 🙂 I recently started a series on my blog called Making the Change, and it was quite hard for me to be so vulnerable and open with my audience, but it has ended up helping me immensely!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

