Overheard in a Hospital

img_4932Working in a hospital has been one of the most exhausting yet rewarding things I’ve ever done. Everything is fast paced. Everyone seems to know what they’re doing and where they’re going. And sometimes I feel like I’m on the set of Grey’s Anatomy and I secretly hope time could just stop here.

But one of my favorite things to do is listen.

Yikes…that sounds creepy, but I have learned so much about people. People are being born and some are taking their last breaths. Some people have just gotten a terminal diagnosis while others are healing. There is a silent tug-of-war that manages to keep everything in balance. A reminder that amongst the chaos there is peace. There is pain and joy and relief and love and anger…all brewing together within the sterilized white walls.

I am seeing people at their most vulnerable and I am simply a passerby.

For some reason I have been keeping a list of things that I overhear and resonate with me.

Here are some of the things I have heard:

  1. “…you know you can’t force it.”
  2. “You think you need something until you make the decision to cut it and you think wow, I am so much stronger than I thought.
  3. “I am so tired of picking up after everyone. I don’t know why I do it, they don’t help because they know I’ll do it. But why is no one there to ever help me when I can’t do it by myself?”
  4. “I’ve been here before because you made me come. It never worked. But now I’m here because it is my last option and it has to work.”
  5. “Every cloud has a silver lining.” “Yeah, but it’s still a cloud…”
  6. “I know we barely met 15 minutes ago but you just made my day.”
  7. “There was supposed to be more time.”
  8. “I’ve never been to Disney, but when I picture myself happy I think of me wearing those stupid Mickey ears taking a picture with Pluto.”
  9. “She needs to find what it is in herself that allows him to behave that way.”
  10. “Sometimes it seems like one small thing goes wrong and everything else falls apart.”
  11. “People just don’t have respect for life anymore.”
  12. “Are you going to be coming to group this week? It means so much to have a supportive face in the crowd.”
  13. “I had to separate myself from her because I realized a friend shouldn’t make you feel worse when you already feel bad enough.”
  14. “She said if she had known it was going to cause this much pain she would have tried to stop years ago.”
  15. “I dated a doctor here once but it didn’t work out…I just didn’t think I was good enough to be with him.”
  16. “Yeah the patient says that they have quit, but people lie when they think they can make themselves seem better than they are.”
  17. “Always trust your gut. You felt there was something wrong and here you are in the hospital. And you were right.”
  18. “We appreciate your honesty. We want to help not hurt you.”
  19. “I found peace when I got right with the Lord.”
  20. “I lost a bunch of weight and ended up having a heart attack anyway. It was just one of those things that was meant to happen.”
2 thoughts on “Overheard in a Hospital

Leave a Reply

